Monday, May 1, 2017


The Jiménez-Porter Writers’ House in coordination with Stylus, are pleased to announce the winners of the
2017 Jiménez-Porter Literary Prize
a writing contest open to all University of Maryland, College Park undergraduate students.
First Place winners receive $150.00; 2nd Place $100, and 3rd place $50.00.
Thanks to all who submitted work to the contest! Many submissions were received. 

Prose Awards
Final Judge:                 Álvaro Enrigue
First Round Judge:     Jihan Asher

 1st Place:                      Radhika Tyagi for “Courier” and “Papa and Webster”
2nd Place:                     Warren Griffiths for “Amsterdam” 
3rd Place:                      Alexandra Kindahl for “An Official Guide to Sending Glitter through the Mail”

Finalists in alphabetical order:
Rosie Brown for “Broken English”
Alexandria Carolan for “Lemmy”
Madison Garey for “A Mild Haunting”
Warren Griffiths for “The Jockey”
Meredith Hale for “Masks”
Jessica Morris for “Lunar”
Rosa Perez for “The Memory of You”

Poetry Awards         

Final Judge:                 Ocean Vuong
First Round Judge:     Marlena Chertock

1st Place:                      Megan Conley for “The Great American Dream”
2nd Place:                     Alice Yanhong Lu for “Document A-89”
3rd Place:                      Madison Garey for “The Moon Is For Lesbians”

Finalists in alphabetical order: 
Alexis Bates for “Teenage Years: Found Poem From Memoir”
Jessica Cooper for “Epilogue (A Ghazal)” and “Plums”
Madison Garey for “Loudonville, OH”
Warren Griffiths for “prism”
Alice Yanhong Lu for “This is how you become American:”
Tara McCurry for “they/them”
Valeria Rivadeneira for “A Warmth of Your Own”

Please mark your calendars for the prizewinners’reading at Litfest
Thursday May 4, 8:00 pm in St. Mary’s Hall
Reading followed by Reception.
The 2017 issue of Stylus will also be unveiled!

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.